“If Haaland doesn’t win the Ballon d’Or, everything has to end”

London, UK.

Recently, “France Football” magazine announced the list 30 football players nominated to win the 2023 Ballon d’Orbut three football players stand out among the most popular football players.

Lionel Messi, Erling Haaland and Kylian Mbappé are among the 30 candidates to win the prestigious award , the award was won last year by Karim Benzema, who was also nominated.

The winners were mainly Argentinians and Norwegians. On the one hand, Messi won the 2022 World Cup in Qatar with the Argentina national team, became the tournament MVP and won the FIFA Best Player Award, but his season with Paris Saint-Germain was not the best.

Haaland, on the other hand, scored 52 goals (taking into account all competitions) in his first season at Manchester City and won the UEFA Best Player trophy for the 2022-2023 season. They won just about everything last season, winning a total of five Premier League titles, two FA Cups, four League Cups, a Champions League and two Community Shields.

France Football’s roster will be reduced to three players, which on paper will be between Haaland and Messi, despite the controversy that has erupted. According to “GOAL”, Messi will win the next Ballon d’Or, which has caused people to go crazy.

strong statement

Former Scotland footballer Craig Burley, who played for Chelsea and Celtic, told ESPN UK: “If Erling Haaland doesn’t win the Ballon d’Or, everything has to end. . Lionel Messi won the World Cup, which was a great achievement, but it only took four weeks. His performances in the league were not the best. His performances at Paris Saint-Germain were very good. Oops.”

Burley continued: “Over 50 goals, Premier League titles, FA Cup titles and Champions League titles. Erling Haaland should win the award. I know a lot of people can’t get off the Messi train but we have to look at The bigger picture.”

At the club level, Messi only won the French Ligue 1 title with Paris Saint-Germain last season. Now, in Major League Soccer (MLS), he has won the League Cup with Inter Miami and is an absolute star in the competition. figure.

Another reason for controversy is that French football awarded the Ballon d’Or to Messi in 2010 and 2014, defeating newly minted world champions Andres Iniesta and Xavi Hernandez respectively. and Manuel Neuer.

This is how you vote for the Golden Balloon Award

The Ballon d’Or winner is chosen by a vote of journalists; there used to be 170 communicators from around the world, but now there are only 100 from the major countries in the FIFA classification.

They select three football players and the three players with the most votes advance to the finals.

The Golden Globe Awards will be held next Monday (October 30) at the Théâtre du Chatelet in Paris, France. The final winner will be announced there.

Source link

Leave a Comment