25 C
New York
Saturday, October 16, 2021

Buy now

Justin Bieber headlines mtv award nominations

Justin Bieber tops the list of nominees for the 2021 MTV Music Video Awards announced Wednesday, followed closely by Megan Thee Stallion, Billie Eilish, BTS, Doja Cat, Drake, Giveon, Lil Nas X and Olivia Rodrigo, who was nominated for the first time.

Bieber has seven nominations including video of the year and best direction for “POPSTAR,” artist of the year and best cinematography for “Holy,” as well as best pop song, best editing and best collaboration for “Peaches.”

Megan Thee Stallion follows closely with six nominations, most for her song “WAP,” with which she competes for video of the year, artist of the year, best collaboration and best hip hop song. She was also nominated for the second time in the best hip hop song category for her work on Lil Baby’s “On Me (The Remix)”.

Eilish, BTS, Doja Cat, Drake, Giveon, Lil Nas X and Rodrigo each have five nominations. Bieber and Megan Thee Stallion will compete with Ariana Grande, Doja Cat, Olivia Rodrigo and Taylor Swift for Artist of the Year.

The video of the year category is completed by Cardi B’s “WAP” with Megan Thee Stallion; DJ Khaled’s “POPSTAR” with Drake and Bieber; “Kiss Me More” by Doja Cat with SZA; “Bad Habits” by Ed Sheeran; “MONTERO (Call Me By Your Name)” by Lil Nas X; and “Save Your Tears” by The Weeknd.

“WAP” is also nominated as song of the year along with “Mood” from 24kGoldn with iann dior; “Leave The Door Open” by Bruno Mars, Anderson . Paak and Silk Sonic; BTS Dynamite; “Levitating” by Dua Lipa and “drivers license” by Rodrigo.

In the Latin music category Bad Bunny has a double nomination, Competing for “Dákiti” with Jhay Cortez and for “Un Dia (One Day)” with J. Balvin, Dua Lipa and Tainy. The category also earned Billie Eilish a nomination for her song “You’re going to Forget It” with ROSALIA. The shortlist is completed by the Black Eyed Peas and Shakira for “Girl Like Me”, Karol G for “Bichota” and Maluma for “Hawaii”.

The awards will return to New York and air from the Barclays Center in Brooklyn on Sept. 12. The awards will be shown on CMT, Comedy Central, Logo, MTV2, Nickelodeon, Paramount Network, Pop, TV Land, VH1 and The CW Network.

The nominees for best new artist are: 24kGoldn, Giveon, The Kid LAROI, Olivia Rodrigo, Polo G and Saweetie. In the rock category are nominated “Use My Voice” by Evanescence, “Shame Shame” by Foo Fighters, “Last Train Home” by John Mayer, “My Own Soul’s Warning” by The Killers, “The Bandit” by Kings Of Leon and “Raise Vibration” by Lenny Kravitz.

Helen Hernandez is our best writer. Helen writes about social news and celebrity gossip. She loves watching movies since childhood. Email: Helen@oicanadian.com Phone : +1 281-333-2229

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles