Lionel Messi from Inter Miami and Erling Haaland from Manchester City top FIFA trophy nominees Football | Sports

Half of the names for FIFA’s 2023 Player of the Year award, announced on Thursday, are Manchester City players, along with other stars such as Lionel Messi or Kylian Mbappé.

In the women’s category, Spanish world champions Aitana Bonmatí and Jenni Hermoso performed particularly well.

Team USA captain stresses: “Lionel Messi joining Inter Miami is positive for the country”

The 36-year-old Argentinian star and the Frenchman from Paris Saint-Germain are also regulars in the list of mostly players released on Thursday citizenrewarding English clubs for their historic Cup/Premier League/Champions League treble.

MLS vice-president says ‘David Beckham is a celebrity, Lionel Messi is something else’

Among them are Erling Haaland, Kevin De Bruyne, Julian Alvarez and Bernardo Silva, the great architects of Citizen’s successful season.

In the women’s category, Spanish world champions Aitana Bonmatí, Mapi León, Jenni Hermoso and Salma Palaullo Salma Paralluelo is vying for the award, along with Britain’s Alex Greenwood, France’s Kadidiatou Diani and Colombia’s Linda Kay Linda Caicedo.

As for the men’s team’s best coach trophy, Spanish coach Pep Guardiola of the Sky Blue team will compete with the championship shortlisted Inter Milan coach Italian Simone Inzaghi and his compatriots Xavi, Australian Ange Postecoglou and Italian Luciano Spalletti helped Napoli win their first Serie A title after a 33-year drought.

FIFA also awards trophies for the women’s team’s best coach, best goalkeeper and best goalkeeper, as well as the Puskas Awards for best goal of the year and best fan.

The award’s judging panel is made up of national captains and coaches, journalists and fans from around the world, who can register to vote through the FIFA website.

FIFA Best Award Nomination List

Best FIFA Player

  • Lionel Messi (Argentina)
  • Erling Haaland (Norway)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium)
  • Ilkay Gundogan (Germany)
  • Marcelo Brozovic (Croatia)
  • Rodrigo “Rodri” Hernandez Cascante (Spain)
  • Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Georgia)
  • Kylian Mbappe (France)
  • Julian Alvarez (Argentina)
  • Victor Osimhen (Nigeria)
  • Declan Rice (England)
  • Bernardo Silva (Portugal)

Best FIFA Player

  • Aitana Bonmati (Spain)
  • Linda Caicedo (Colombia)
  • Rachel Daly (England)
  • Kadidiatu Diani (France)
  • Caitlin Ford (Australia)
  • Mary Fowler (Australia)
  • Alex Greenwood (England)
  • Jenny Hermoso (Spain)
  • Lindsay Horan (USA)
  • Amanda Elester (Sweden)
  • Lauren James (England)
  • Sam Cole (Australia)
  • Mapileo (Spain)
  • Miyazawa Hinata (Japan)
  • Salma Palaruelo (Spain)
  • Keira Walsh (England)

Best FIFA Women’s Football Coach

  • Peter Gerhardsen (Sweden)
  • Jonathan Giraldez (Spain)
  • Toni Gustafsson (Sweden)
  • Emma Hayes (England)
  • Salina Wegman (Netherlands)

FIFA’s best men’s football coach

  • Pep Guardiola (Spain)
  • Simone Inzaghi (Italy)
  • Angie Postkoglu (Australia)
  • Luciano Spalletti (Italy)
  • Xavi Hernandez (Spain)

FIFA’s best goalkeeper

  • Mackenzie Arnold (Australia)
  • Ann-Karine Berger (Germany)
  • Catalina Cole (Spain)
  • Mary Earps (England)
  • Christian Endler (Chile)
  • Jersela Musovic (Sweden)
  • Sandra Panos (Spain)

FIFA’s best goalkeeper

  • Yassine Bono (Morocco)
  • Thibault Courtois (Belgium)
  • Edson (Brazil)
  • Andre Onana (Cameroon)
  • Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Germany)

Best FIFA Fan

  • Racing Santa Fe Fans (Argentina)
  • Fran Herndal (England)
  • Miguel Ángel, Millionaire Fan (Colombia)


Source link

Leave a Comment