The central defender was assisted by Rafa Silva and shot ter Stegen, but the referee annulled the goal at the request of his assistant. What did you charge?
Barcelona and Benfica gave a great show in the first 45 minutes of the fifth day of group E in the UEFA champions league with a Blaugrana who had a great deficit in the definition against a rival who had the controversy of the meeting in an action that ended in a goal by Nicolás Otamendi.
At 34 from the initial stage, Everton He executed a corner kick on the right wing, sent a cross passed to the far post that he received Rafa silva with right leg and, on the next touch, he assisted the central defender of the Argentine National Team, who took a furious shot that bounced off the crossbar and entered before the watchful eye of goalkeeper Marc-André ter Stegen. So far, it was a goal for the Portuguese team, but the controversial decision came.
In the middle of the Portuguese celebration, Referee Sergey Karasev claimed, at the request of one of his assistants, that the ball centered by the Brazilian had left the court and then re-entered, one of the requests that had been noticed, in the first instance, by ter Stegen. Nevertheless, The television cameras left many doubts about the final destination of that ball that made Benfica 1-0 at the Camp Nou until a photo revealed the mystery.
The controversy in Otamendi’s goal for Benfica vs. Barcelona for the UEFA Champions League