Will JK Rowling be invited to a Harry Potter special after their controversies?

HBO Max will premiere on January 1, 2022 Harry Potter 20th Anniversary: ​​Return to Hogwarts, a special that brings the cast of the saga together in front of the cameras for the first time since the premiere of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2, the last installment of the main franchise to be released in 2011.

Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson and Rupert Grint, as well as director Chris Columbus, will be on the special, which will not feature JK Rowling.

According to ComicBook, the reason for the absence has not been disclosed from the creator of the Harry Potter universe. It should be noted that the writer has received much criticism for her comments on the trans community, which led stars of the saga such as Radcliffe, Watson, Grint and Bonnie Wright to publicly position themselves against him.

Rowling wrote all the books in the Harry Potter franchise, beginning with the release of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone in 1997. In 1999, Rowling sold the film rights to the first four books to Warner Bros. and the first film was released in 2001.

The franchise universe continues through the saga Fantastic Animals. Precisely the protagonist of these films, Eddie Redmayne, also charged Rowling for her comments about the trans community, opinions that he called “completely disgusting.”

Rowling’s controversy dates back to 2020, when the author criticized an article in which they used the term “menstruating” instead of “women”. Their views were considered transphobic, as some argued that trans men and non-binary people can menstruate as well.

The creator of Harry Potter then decided to publish an extensive essay on her website arguing her position, in which she expressed her fear that “girls and women by birth are less secure. ”

“When you open the bathroom and changing room doors to any man who believes or feels he is a woman – and today, as I said, gender confirmation certificates can be awarded without the need for surgery or hormones – then you open the door to each and every one of the men who wish to enter. That is the simple truth, “he claimed.

In addition to the aforementioned actors, Helena Bonham Carter, Robbie Coltrane, Ralph Fiennes, Jason Isaacs, Gary Oldman, Imelda Staunton, Tom Felton, Mark Williams, Evanna Lynch, Bonnie Wright, Alfred Enoch, Matthew Lewis, Ian Hart will also participate in the meeting. , James Phelps and Oliver Phelps.


Source link


Helen Hernandez is our best writer. Helen writes about social news and celebrity gossip. She loves watching movies since childhood. Email: Helen@oicanadian.com Phone : +1 281-333-2229

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker