With Messi as the favorite, the 2021 Ballon d’Or is awarded

France Football magazine today awards the distinction to the best player in the world in 2021. La Pulga is on its seventh conquest.

Messi Ballon d'Or

Crack Lionel messi will go this Monday for its seventh Golden Ball, the award given by the magazine France Football to the best footballer, in a season marked by his historic departure from Barcelona from Spain and his arrival at PSG, but especially by the long-awaited conquest of the Copa América with Argentina.

The ceremony will take place at the Châtelet Theater in Paris, France, from 4:00 p.m. Argentine time and La Pulga appears as the great favorite to win the award.

Messi won the award six times: 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2019. And he surpasses the Portuguese star by one Cristiano Ronaldo, which took it in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017.

In addition, the Argentine forward is nominated Lautaro Martinez, who was champion of the continental tournament in Brazil with the National Team and who also won Serie A in Italy with Inter.

France Football, which has presented the award annually since 1956, except for 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic, and the best footballer is chosen through a vote in which 180 specialized journalists participate (one representative per country). Each one awarded a ranking of five players. The first on the list receives six points, the second four, the third three, the fourth two, and the fifth one.

The 2021 Ballon d’Or candidates

  • Riyad Mahrez (Algeria)
  • Ngolo Kanté (France)
  • Erling Haaland (Norway)
  • Leonardo Bonucci (Italy)
  • Mason Mount (England)
  • Harry Kane (England)
  • Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy)
  • Karim Benzema (France)
  • Raheem Sterling (England)
  • Nicolò Barella (Italy)
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina)
  • Bruno Fernandes (Portugal)
  • Pedri (Spain)
  • Luka Modrić (Croatia)
  • Giorgio Chiellini (Italy)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium)
  • Neymar (Brazil)
  • Rúben Dias (Portugal)
  • Lautaro Martínez (Argentina)
  • Simon Kjaer (Denmark)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Poland)
  • Jorginho (Italy)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt)
  • César Azpilicueta (Spain)
  • Romelu Lukaku (Belgium)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
  • Gerard Moreno (Spain)
  • Phil Foden (England)
  • Kylian Mbappé (France)
  • Luis Suárez (Uruguay)

Emiliano Martínez, nominated for the Lev Yashin trophy (best goalkeeper)

  • Keylor Navas (Costa Rica)
  • Emiliano Martínez (Argentina)
  • Manuel Neuer (Germany)
  • Jan Oblak (Slovenia)
  • Samir Handanovic (Slovenia)
  • Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy)
  • Ederson (Brazil)
  • Kasper Schmeichel (Denmark)
  • Edouard Mendy (Senegal)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Belgium)

All nominees for the Women’s Ballon d’Or

  • Alexia Putellas (Spain)
  • Magdalena Eriksson (Sweden)
  • Marie-Antoinette Katoto (France)
  • Sam Kerr (Australia)
  • Stina Blackstenius (Sweden)
  • Lieke Martens (Netherlands)
  • Jessie Fleming (Canada)
  • Irene Paredes (Spain)
  • Ashley Lawrence (Canada)
  • Christine Sinclair (Canada)
  • Ellen White (England)
  • Christiane Endler (Chile)
  • Jennifer Hermoso (Spain)
  • Fran Kirby (England)
  • Kadidiatou Diani (France)
  • Sandra Paños (Spain)
  • Samantha Newis (United States)
  • Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands)
  • Wendie Renard (France)
  • Pernille Harder (Denmark)

It may interest you

Source link


Tammy Sewell is our Writer and Social at Tammy loves sports, she writes our celebrities news. She spends time browsing through several celebs news sources as well the Instagram. Email: Phone: +1 513-209-1700

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker