Badgers to compete in Canadian University Rowing Championships

The Brock Badgers rowing team has expanded its lineup ahead of this weekend’s trip to the National Collegiate Rowing Championships.

Brock is a two-time Athlete of the Year, Stephen Harriswill represent the Badgers in three boats competing in the Canadian Universities Rowing Championships (CURC) on Lake Burnaby, British Columbia, Nov. 10-12.

Harris is a fourth-year economics student at the University of Guelph and recently returned from competing for Canada with the former Brock rower Michael Sipil The 2023 Santiago Pan American Games in Santiago, Chile, at the end of October.

Harris moved to Vancouver, British Columbia, to work with the national team, which meant completing his studies remotely to accommodate training.

“I have the opportunity to compete against some of the best athletes in the sport. Their fitness levels provide me with motivation to train harder,” Harris said. “The process brings a lot of new challenges, but returning to competing at a high level after contracting infectious mononucleosis this winter is part of the plan.”

Harris is working towards selection in the men’s lightweight singles competition for next July’s World University Championships in Rotterdam, before competing at the 2024 World Rowing Senior, U23 and U19 in St. Catharines from August 18 to 25 championship.

This weekend, Harris will represent Bullock in three different tournaments at CURC: Men’s Singles, Men’s Lightweight Duals and Men’s Lightweight Fours.

Results will be posted on Regatta Central throughout the weekend.

Here are Bullock’s entries for the 2023 Canadian University Rowing Championships:

Women’s lightweight foursome (Zoe Durkak, Isabella Dulcak, Rowan O’Neill, maya gastoncaptain Serafina Dyer)

Women’s lightweight doubles match (Zoe Durkak, Isabella Dulcak)

Women’s Double (Erin Broski, Jarin Murray)

Women’s lightweight singles (Rowan O’Neill)

Men’s Eight (Connor Dodds, Christopher Gomez, Keith Woodhouse, Jared Boles, Elijah Lopez, Josh Ruby, madox harrison, Ian Doctorcaptain Clara Sebastianelli)

Men’s lightweight quad (Connor Dodds, Christopher Gomez, Stephen Harris, Charles-Etienne Thabetcaptain Clara Sebastianelli)

Men’s lightweight doubles match (Stephen Harris, Riley Watson)

Men’s double (Keith Woodhouse, Jared Boles)

Men’s singles (Stephen Harris)

Men’s lightweight single (Charles-Etienne Thabet)

Men’s Pairs Exhibition Match (Lucas Fogg, Ian Doctor)

Source link

Leave a Comment