Conquest/JMF wins race 2; Travis and Hart win Pro-Am title – Sportscar365

Photo: Brian Cleary/SRO

Conquest Racing/JMF Motorsport’s Jesse Webb and Mihai Stevens took the overall victory in Sunday’s Pirelli GT4 America season finale at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, while the duo of Nolasport’s Jason Hart and Matt Travis captured the Pro-Am class title.

Webb fought his way through the field to take a convincing victory in his No. 34 Mercedes-AMG GT4 despite an added 4.3-second penalty after the race due to a short pit stop.

The Canadian driver finished 11.633 seconds ahead of the No. 68 Smooge Racing Toyota GR Supra GT4 EVO Pro-Am class winner Kevin Conway and Aaron Telitz following Conway’s late-race pass for 24th overall on pole. The racing heart of Gray Newell’s Aston Martin Vantage GT4.

Newell and Roman De Angelis finished fifth overall and third in class, behind ACI Motorsports’ two Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsports, which were third and fourth at the finish.

Meanwhile, Travis’ eighth place overall was enough to give him and Hart the Pro-Am title, ahead of the No. 82 BimmerWorld BMW M4 GT4 of James Walker Jr. and Tyler McQuarrie, who finished one position in ninth.

Walker Jr. and McQuarrie entered the second race with a 1-point lead in the championship, but started from 17th on the grid and failed to make any significant progress in the Nolasport, which claimed its third consecutive class title.

It also marked Hart’s third consecutive championship as a driver.

Meanwhile, Heart of Racing’s Hannah Grisham and Rhianna O’Meara-Hunt won the weekend in the Am class thanks to Grisham’s late charge on Nick Shanney to win their category.

John Dagis is the founder and editor-in-chief of Sportscar365. Dagis spent eight years as a motorsports reporter for and the SPEED Channel, and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications around the world. Contact John

Source link

Leave a Comment